DIY Filofax Dividers

DIYdividersToday, I thought I’d share a little tutorial with y’all on how to make your own Filofax dividers! If you’re like me, you want to have a stylish Filo that fits your personality, but don’t want to spend a ton of money ordering some. That’s why I’ve decided to show y’all how I made my own!

First off…I’ve only had my Filo a short while, but I really love it. Since I bought my organizer, I have been trying to figure out what, exactly, it is that I want to do with it. Naturally, I had to take a trip to the craft store đŸ˜‰

When I got to Hobby Lobby, I went straight to check out the paper isle. Lucky for me they had 50% off on all of the paper sheets. I might have gone a little overboard….but who can resist all that pretty paper?! I got tons of cute patterns that match what I want to do in my Filo and even some for the holidays!!! It’s a pretty simple project, so it can be easily modified for other organizers as well.

Now on to the tutorial!

Here’s some things you’ll need..

  • Patterned paper of your choice
  • pen or pencil
  • scissors
  • adhesive
  • an old divider that came with your organizer

DIY Filofax divliders

For the first step, you’ll need to flip your paper over so the patterned side is face down. Place your original divider on the edge of the paper and trace around the divider.

Filofax2

After you trace around all the sides, flip it over and align the tabs so they’re touching and trace around the remaining edges.

Filofax3

Cut around all of the outside edges and leave the side with the tabbed side uncut. I just folded mine in half along the line for the tab and cut both sides at once.

**DO NOT cut the tab. Leave the edges connected to each other, it’s easier to align the two sides together.

Filofax4

This is what you’ll be left with once you finish cutting! We’re almost done now!

Glue the two sides together, pattern on the outside, of course. đŸ˜‰

Filofax5

Since I don’t have a Filofax hole punch yet, I used the divider template to mark where I should punch the holes. I traced the holes and used a plain one hole punch! Easy-peasy!

YOU’RE ALL DONE!

Filofax6Here’s what your beautiful new dividers will look like! I decided that I wanted my dividers to last and be used through out the seasons, so I laminated them. I’m already happier with my Filofax and feel like it’s more “me”. Even though it’s a really simply project, it’s one of my favorites because I can make them for any season or change them out when my style changes! Hope you enjoy and have a little fun with this project!

Later Lovelies :*

“When in doubt, make a fool of yourself. There is a microscopically thin line between being brilliantly creative and acting like the most gigantic idiot on earth. So what the hell, leap.”

-Cynthia Heimel


Leave a Reply

